RSS

Make use of what you’ve got.

07 May

It has been a little more than two months since I last posted any blogs on this site or any other for that matter

.

I have followed all the blogs I used to follow via email updates so I wasnt exactly left out in the cold. It has been great watching how most of you have grown in your blogging and I have really enjoyed seeing all the brilliant photos that you have all been posting. This is a total inspiration to me to really start using my camera which brings me to my first post in such a long time. And its not my favourite topic today, so no politics

Most people are inclined to lok at the equiment they own and seem to have this attitude that once they manage to get that new model camera and match it to a L series lens they will be able to take better photos. So this mind set becomes a barrier to the budding photographer to take what he/she has in their camera bag and to experiment with what is available to a point that good photographs are being produced. I still mantain that my camera is capable of taking far better pictures than what I am capable of.

Consider that many of the most inspirational pictures taken over the last 50 years or so were done using cameras that have less specifications than even the smallest phone camera has today!

Today there are iPods, iPads, various tablets, cellphones and small pocket cameras that have the capabilities of taking pictures that my father or mother would have given their eye teeth for. The little Brownie and Kodak I recall them using didnt have any choice of light settings, and used these square flash cubes that could only be used once before being discarded. Yet when I look through the old black and white photographs that are a record of my youth and where we had been on various holidays, I can only sit back and marvel at the quality of the scenes that have been preserved by those old cameras. There are not many pictures associated with each holiday but we must remember that having them printed cost a lot of money. There are loads of negatives for 110 and 164 spools that were used and never even printed.

So my request to all of you that have a camera no matter how small, get out there and start using it. Once you have reached the point where you know that you are better than that camera and now need to upgrade, then do so. If you are one of those lucky enough to be able afford the latest photography equipment, and are willing to learn to use it well, then nobody is going to begrudge you for it.

I really enjoy post production software, and will be the first to say that in the begining I really tried to improve my photos to what I considered to be good photos. It just doesnt work! You need to start with good photos and work on them not the other way round of using a bad picture and trying to fix it up.

I got involved in using Capture One, CS5, PaintShop Pro and a few smaller packages. The ability to change a photo by adding  or taking away items to make it look better was just my cup of tea. So what that there was a pole growing out of Aunt Sue’s head? With a few clicks it was no longer there. Dont like cousin Bertie pulling a face in the background? Wipe him out of the photo with a few clicks. But by becoming a better photographer one slowly starts to pick out these little points and it is no longer necessary to spend hours titivating your photos to a point that they no longer resemble what you had actually seen through the view finder. For the odd bit of adjusting packages such as Gimp and Picasa will suffice for most people.

So make use of what you’ve got and cut the excuses of waiting for something better!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on 07/05/2012 in Photo

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Make use of what you’ve got.

  1. Pussycat44

    08/05/2012 at 04:57

    My Dad was the photographer in our family and when he bought any new item for his camera I had to be the long-suffering “model”. There was always a room set aside for him to serve as his dark room.

     
    • paul

      08/05/2012 at 12:49

      At least you got a good background!

       
  2. optie

    08/05/2012 at 06:18

    I so agree with you regarding camera equipment. I recently did a morning photography workshop and was amazed to learn what my relatively low tech camera can do. I have a long way to go before I will have mastered my camera but I do enjoy playing with it. Thanks for an inspirational post.

     
    • paul

      08/05/2012 at 12:46

      My problem photography courses and workshops is that I then discover how little I know!! But keep at it and mainly you must enjoy it.

       
  3. Sonel

    08/05/2012 at 10:57

    What a stunning post Paul! You said it! 🙂
    *hugs*

     
    • paul

      08/05/2012 at 12:47

      Thanks Sonel. You are still producing some stunning photos on your blog

       

Leave a Reply

 
