RSS

Quick, use your camera

13 May

On our way through the Orange Free State (one of the 9 provinces in South Africa) we suddenly came across a small lake with Flamingo’s in the middle of nowhere.

This is where carrying your camera is an added bonus to your road trip. I know my photography of birds in motion still needs some serious practice but at least I have a record of what I saw out on the road.

I also took some pictures of some pollution next to the dam where a peanut farmer was dumping his waste in the bushes, but until I have contacted the relevant authorities and the peanut farmer I cannot publish these.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on 13/05/2012 in Photo

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “Quick, use your camera

  1. adinparadise

    13/05/2012 at 19:30

    Lucky you had your camera at the ready, Paul.😉

     
    • paul

      13/05/2012 at 20:01

      Trying very hard to take it with me when I need to travel a bit but see such great things early morning on my way to work that I need to think of putting my camera on my motorcycle as well

       
  2. 68ghia

    14/05/2012 at 08:24

    Practice or now, lovely pics😉
    They’ve had many documentaries about these flamingo’s a while back.
    The estuary where they’re situated is part of a natural water reclaming structure or whatever. But, since the new government does not do things like maintenance, too much affluence is being dumped in the water, placing both the birds and the estuary in peril.
    But hey, we’re free!!!

     
    • paul

      14/05/2012 at 10:40

      Freedom is just another word when you have nothing to lose (to quote the words of a song). But joking aside, one day when we are all standing ankle deep in poo it will be too late to save sight like this in our country.

       

Leave a Reply

 
