RSS

Hold it straight

25 May

While going through some photographs on my hard drive I came across this one of a very old fountain which is situated in the Pretoria Zoological gardens. It had been donated by a very wealthy business man Sammy Marks in the late 1800’s.

The subsequent photograph I took was nice and straight with the fountain set more to the side using all the normal rule of thirds and is a keeper.

But what if there was only this photograph, and I wasn’t blessed with having software that could straighten it? Would I be happy having to turn my head at angles to see what my photographs looks like in real life?

It is all a case of getting right back to the basics we all learn when we first pick up a camera. Hold it straight and make sure that when you press the shutter button you don’t move the camera. This is so basic, but after a while we become so complacent, that we become ‘sloppy’ and actually forget to apply all we have learnt.

When I started out using a digital camera I was told that the best thing for me to learn, was that every time I picked up a camera I must go through a routine of checking what settings I had last left the camera on, and if everything was okay, then check if I was holding the camera right, and IS THE PICTURE IN MY VIEWFINDER STRAIGHT!

As can be seen in the above picture I didn’t apply what I have done thousands of times before. The end result is not what I expected, and not something that is worth keeping any  more.

Here’s to your pictures being straight, and the light just right!

 

 

 
10 Comments

Posted by on 25/05/2012 in Photo

 

Tags: , , , ,

10 responses to “Hold it straight

  1. optie

    25/05/2012 at 13:54

    Good advice, specially true when photographing the horizon.

     
    • paul

      28/05/2012 at 18:56

      Here in JHB we dont really see the horizon on winters mornings. Far to much smog!!

       
  2. thehappyhugger

    25/05/2012 at 15:14

    Yep, I agree!
    *hugs*

     
  3. adinparadise

    25/05/2012 at 17:03

    I had a similar effect when I photographed the Leaning Tower of Pisa. 😉

     
    • paul

      28/05/2012 at 18:09

      I found it normally happens after a few beers 🙂 But the leaning tower of pisa would be a challenge

       
      • adinparadise

        29/05/2012 at 11:58

        You might have managed to get it straight. 😉

         
  4. Colleen

    26/05/2012 at 20:47

    Such good advice. I see so many gorgeous photos of the sea that friends post on facebook and the horizon is tilting wildly!

     
    • paul

      28/05/2012 at 18:14

      If they were taking the shots from the deck of a boat then we can understand a tilting horizon.

       
      • Colleen

        31/05/2012 at 08:15

        LOL! Yes…..but mostly they are standing on stable ground 🙂

         
  5. Ruth2Day

    29/05/2012 at 05:05

    it’s the leaning fountain of Pretoria!

     

Leave a Reply

 
