RSS

Coast visit 2

12 Jul

While walking past some fishermen I noticed some fishing line which had been discarded on the beach.

There are signs up asking the fishermen not to leave any bait or fishing line as it it detrimental to the eco system. But then I suppose they have never had to rescue birds or fish caught in a tangle of fishing line…

All these were taken while walking along the beach. The wind was blowing quite a bit which made it pretty difficult to keep a steady aim. Thank goodness for SR which helped a hell of a lot!

(I am now saving to get a bigger lens – would get me a lot closer)

 
11 Comments

Posted by on 12/07/2012 in Photo

 

Tags: , , , ,

11 responses to “Coast visit 2

  1. Ivelisse

    12/07/2012 at 17:00

    So glad you posted this. It always breaks my heart to see an animal hurt as a result of our thoughtlessness.

     
    • paul

      12/07/2012 at 17:02

      Also posted a blog a little while back about some flamingos and pollution which had a positive outcome.
      Thanks for dropping by

       
      • Ivelisse

        12/07/2012 at 17:09

        I’ll definitely check it out. I love reading blogs that bring about awareness. Thanks for posting!

         
  2. adinparadise

    12/07/2012 at 17:29

    Glad to see you found some blue sky here today, Paul. It seems a bit colder here than usual. Those fishermen can be very messy, and I’ve seen people complain about it in the local paper.

     
    • paul

      12/07/2012 at 17:46

      Yet I haven’t seen any of the much vaunted security doing any patrols and seeing that these things do not happen.
      The bit of sun today wasn’t enough to dry my washing so here is to hoping for more sun tomorrow

       
  3. Pussycat44

    12/07/2012 at 19:32

    The mess left by the fishermen regularly gets mentioned in our local paper. There were two stories today about dogs having been badly hurt by hooks left on the beach. It’s especially bad at the moment as it is sardine season and there are many fishermen out and about.
    I do wish though, that the municipality could use a vehicle to rake the beaches every day.

     
    • paul

      13/07/2012 at 07:27

      I also wish people who take their dogs for a walk would take a plastic bag with them to pick up the dog poo and not just leave there!
      But I suppose they think it is okay as the tide will come in a wash it away…

       
  4. colonialist

    12/07/2012 at 21:12

    Super shots – our birds won’t let me get that close!
    As for the fishermen, many are messy and inconsiderate. I often give them a mouthful for leaving litter, and instruct them to take away their rubbish. So far the ones I have spoken to have complied, although swearing a lot.

     
    • paul

      13/07/2012 at 07:21

      I was reading yesterday that some photographers actually place food down close to where they are sitting/hiding to lure them closer.
      I haven’t tried it yet but will do so when I get back home again.

      As to the fishermen – I think here in South Africa it it has a lot to do with our attitude to authority and what is right or wrong. If I consider a place such as Canada, everybody does their bit to keep the environment clean because that is what they consider to be important.

       
  5. Ruth2DayRuth

    13/07/2012 at 06:58

    wonderful photos. your camera skills are excellent!

     
    • paul

      13/07/2012 at 07:14

      thanks for the kind words.
      I still have lots to learn and must admit to enjoying it immensely.
      It is just a pity that I had to wait until so late in my life to find out how much I enjoy it.

       

Leave a Reply

 
