RSS

Photos next to the water

17 Jul

I was traveling with my daughter the other day when we decided to have a quick look at my favorite bird hide just in case there was something to see. Although it was noon and the light very harsh I took my camera along and managed the following pictures.

Purple Gallinule (Parphyrio porphyrio)

Cape Teal (Anas capensis)

Southern Crowned Crane (Balearica regulorum)

(from the back showing unique plumage)

Canon 500D

Canon 55-250mm lens

Manual settings

 

 
9 Comments

Posted by on 17/07/2012 in Envioronment, Photo, South Africa

 

Tags: , , ,

9 responses to “Photos next to the water

  1. adinparadise

    17/07/2012 at 15:56

    Beautiful photos. šŸ˜‰

     
    • paul

      17/07/2012 at 16:07

      thanks very much.
      just sad that I’m back in Gauteng once again šŸ˜¦

       
      • adinparadise

        17/07/2012 at 16:10

        Oh that’s a pity. I was going to suggest we all meet for lunch at Europa after I play the piano tomorrow.

         
      • paul

        17/07/2012 at 16:14

        will take you up on that offer the next time we are down there.
        Both my wife and I love the coast and having a daughter living on the north coast does mean we come down often

         
  2. Pussycat44

    17/07/2012 at 18:03

    Lovely pics. I cannot open the third one for some reason.

     
  3. 68ghia

    17/07/2012 at 20:03

    I might one day be able to take pictures of birds – I will have no clue what they are though šŸ˜‰
    Lovely pics Paul!

     
    • paul

      18/07/2012 at 11:53

      I used my Sasol bird book a lot. There are times I have no clue as to what bird I am taking a photo of!

       
  4. Ruth2Day

    18/07/2012 at 05:29

    really lovely photos šŸ™‚

     
  5. optie

    19/07/2012 at 08:28

    These are fabulous shots, I especially love the first one with the colour reflected in the water and an otherwise neutral background.

     

Leave a Reply

 
